St. Lucia Teachers' Union News

 St. Lucia Teachers' Union, P.O. Box 821 Castries, St Lucia, West Indies


17th Biennial Convention

Date: Sunday Sep 02, 2012

The St. Lucia Teachers’ Union held its 17th Biennial Convention on Thursday 19th April 2012. The convention took place at the Gros Islet Secondary School. A number of teachers from all twelve branches of union participated in this convention.

The day began with an address by the Minister of Education The Hon. Dr. Robert Lewis. Dr. Lewis highlighted some of the plans the his government has for education in St. Lucia. Some of those plans includes:

  • the introduction of Universal Early Childhood Education
  • Ensuring that the schools which didn’t receive a form one class in the last academic year remain open.  Those schools are the Marigot Secondary School, Grande Riviere Secondary School and the Vieux Fort Technical School.
  • Changing the regulations that guide parents with students at the common entrance level when they opt for secondary school places. The hope is to eventually introduce partial zoning in St. Lucia.

The Minister was also engaged in a discussion with teachers on issues within the education system. The Minister did announce that the Ministry of Education has worked collaboratively with the union to resolve the issue with the Cuban Trained Teachers and they will continue to work to solve other issues that the union has outstanding with the Ministry of Education.

During the Closed Session  the members of the National executive gave reports on their stewardship throughout the Biennium 2010 to 2012. A number of branches also gave reports on the activities which were undertaken in the branch during the period under review. Also other committees like the Status of Women’s Committee presented reports to the convention.

Two resolutions were passed at the convention. The first resolution mandated the General Council to put a committee in place to undertake a constitutional review. The Second resolution sort to make the Status of Women’s Committee a Standing Committee of the SLTU. Both resolutions were unanimously passed.

The convention concluded with the Elections Commission giving a report on the recently held elections for a new executive to serve for the period 2012 to 2014. The Commission also conducted the elections of two trustees for the organization. All these officers were installed at the convention. The members of the National Executive to serve for the period 2012 to 2014 are:

President: Julian Monrose

First Vice President: Flora Emmanuel Joseph

Second Vice President: Nigel Mitchel

General Secretary: Don Howell

Deputy General Secretary: Ken Patrick Prospere

Treasurer: Peter Louisy

Public Relations Officer: Leah St. Helen Phulgence

Trustee: Bartholemy Eugene

Trustee: Utilda Joseph


The SLTU thanks all members for their support and looks forward to serving you.


Long Live the St. Lucia Teachers’ Union!!!

Back to News